Panorama History

History

For nearly 90 years AUMUND has stood for technological innovations in the sector of transport of hot and abrasive conveyed materials. The company has set international standards with its highly reliable products.

Heinrich Aumund – The founder

heinrich-aumund

Actually the company founder Prof. Dr. Ing. e.h. Heinrich Aumund was supposed to have taken over the parental farm near Bremen, but he had already been fascinated with „technology“ from an early age. So he embarked on an academic career, studied machinery construction and physics and occupied himself with the application of conveying means in hard coal mining in the Ruhr area and in the Lower Rhine region. Already in 1929 Heinrich Aumund patented his development of a railway tipper wagon.

However at the age of just 36 years old Heinrich Aumund firstly committed himself to the education of young people, being the youngest full professor at the Technical University in Danzig. Parallel to his tasks as tenured professor, Heinrich Aumund, who meanwhile was the holder of patent laws in practically all industrialised countries, ventured the step towards independence. In 1922 he established a design and sales office for AUMUND Fördererbau GmbH in Berlin thus laying the foundation stone for the success of today’s group of companies. Customers were no longer to be found exclusively in mining and iron and steel construction but also in many other industrial sectors.

Günter-Claus Aumund – The Second Generation

guenter-claus_aumund

In 1951 his son Günter-Claus Aumund took over the engineering office. 1952/1953 AUMUND Fördererbau GmbH moved location to Homberg. The new offices were located at 154 Hochfeldstraße. But the thought of being able to have his own manufacturing facilities made Günther Claus Aumund restless. The young company boss finally found the latter in 1955 in the former Pötters agricultural machinery factory in Rheinberg-Millingen.

Production began in his own works in 1956. Thanks to the constantly increasing success of AUMUND conveying technologies the location, the production capacities and the services were constantly expanded. In the course of the mining crisis which had already started at the beginning of the 60s, AUMUND Fördererbau GmbH had to accept dents in turnover in mining, its main market. On the other hand, the turnover figures increased in the internationally active cement industry which, besides mining, AUMUND supplied ever-increasingly.

Franz-Walter Aumund – The Third Generation

In his role as third generation managing partner, Franz-Walter Aumund directs the group of companies today with around 400 employees. For more than 30 years his name has stood for the development of a worldwide sales network for AUMUND products. Apart from the global cement industry AUMUND in particular serves customers from the mineral processing sector, foundries, steelworks, aluminium and ironworks as well as the power generation industry.

Individual, technically mature products in the sphere of conveying and storage technology as well as in plant construction have contributed to the ranking of AUMUND in an outstanding position worldwide – sometimes as market leader. Bucket elevators and apron conveyors designed and manufactured in Rheinberg represent custom solutions which are acknowledged worldwide.

Panorama Chronik

Chronik

AUMUND steht seit rund 90 Jahren für technologische Innovationen im Bereich Transport von heißen und abrasiven Fördermaterialien. Mit seinen höchst zuverlässigen Produkten setzt das Unternehmen international Maßstäbe. 

Heinrich Aumund - Der Gründer

heinrich-aumundEigentlich hätte Unternehmensgründer Prof. Dr. Ing. e.h. Heinrich Aumund den elterlichen Hof bei Bremen übernehmen sollen, doch schon früh erlag er der Faszination „Technik“. So schlug er eine akademische Laufbahn ein, studierte Maschinenbau- und Physik und beschäftigte sich mit dem Einsatz von Transportmitteln für den Steinkohle-Bergbau im Ruhrgebiet und am Niederrhein. Bereits 1929 ließ sich Heinrich Aumund seine Entwicklung eines Eisenbahnwagenkippers patentieren.

Doch Heinrich Aumund verschrieb sich zunächst im Alter von nur 36 Jahren als jüngster ordentlicher Professor an der Technischen Hochschule Danzig der Ausbildung junger Menschen. Parallel zu seinen Aufgaben als Lehrstuhlinhaber wagte Heinrich Aumund, der inzwischen Patentrechte in fast allen Industrieländern der Erde besaß, den Schritt in die Selbstständigkeit. 1922 gründete er mit einem Konstruktions- und Vertriebsbüro die AUMUND Fördererbau GmbH in Berlin und legte damit den Grundstein für den Erfolg der heutigen Unternehmensgruppe. Kunden fanden sich nicht mehr nur im Bergbau, Hütten- und Stahlbau, sondern auch in vielen anderen Industriebereichen.

Günter-Claus Aumund - Die zweite Generation

guenter-claus_aumundIm Jahr 1951 übernahm sein Sohn Günter-Claus Aumund das Ingenieurbüro. 1952/1953 siedelte die AUMUND Fördererbau GmbH nach Homberg um. Die neuen Büroräume befanden sich an der Hochfeldstraße 154. Doch der Gedanke an eigene Produktionshallen ließ Günther Claus Aumund nicht ruhen. Die fand der junge Firmen-Chef 1955 schließlich in der ehemaligen Landmaschinenfabrik Pötters in Rheinberg-Millingen.

Am 12. November 1955 ersteigerte Günther Claus Aumund mit tatkräftiger Unterstützung seiner Frau in einer Zwangsversteigerung insgesamt fünf Flurstücke. Hier begann dann das immense Wachstum des Unternehmens vom örtlichen Bergbau-Zulieferer zur weltweit operierenden Unternehmensgruppe. Die Produktion im eigenen Werk begann 1956. Dank des stets steigenden Erfolgs mit AUMUND Transporttechniken wurden der Standort, die Produktionskapazitäten und die Serviceleistungen immer weiter ausgebaut.Im Zuge der Bergbaukrise, die bereits Anfang der 60-er Jahre begann, musste die AUMUND Fördererbau GmbH Umsatzeinbußen bei seinem Hauptabnehmer Bergbau hinnehmen. Auf der anderen Seite stiegen die Umsatzzahlen in der weltweit zu findenden Zementindustrie, die AUMUND neben dem Bergbau verstärkt belieferte.

Franz-Walter Aumund - Die dritte Generation

Franz-Walter Aumund führt heute die   Unternehmensgruppe mit ihren rund 400 Mitarbeitern als geschäftsführender Gesellschafter in dritter Generation. Sein Name steht seit über 30 Jahren für den Aufbau eines weltweiten Vertriebsnetzes für AUMUND Produkte. Neben der weltweiten Zementindustrie bedient AUMUND insbesondere Kunden aus dem Bereich der Mineralaufbereitungstechnik, Gießereien, Stahlwerke, Aluminium- und Eisenhütten sowie der Kraftwerks-industrie.

Individuelle, technisch ausgereifte Produkte im Bereich der Förder- und Lagertechnik sowie für den Anlagenbau haben dazu beigetragen, AUMUND weltweit in hervorragender Stellung - teilweise als Marktführer - zu positionieren. Becherwerke und Plattenbänder aus Konstruktion und Fertigung in Rheinberg sind weltweit anerkannte Individuallösungen.